Proud Igorot top PNPA cadet this year


Proud Igorot top PNPA cadet this year

Published : Tuesday, April 10, 2012 00:00
Written by : Alfred Dalizon / Journal.com.phImage

MAMANG PULIS — A PROUD Igorot, Rudy Aliona Peang,  is this year’s top male cadet of the Philippine National Police Academy Class 2012 who will join the 143,000-strong police force.

Born on July 9, 1989 in Barangay Cabitin, Mankayan, Benguet, the 22-year old newly-commissioned PNP Inspector is the second of the six children of Jerry and Fely.

“My story started in Mankayan, Benguet where my early childhood days were filled with memories of lush gardens. Life was sweet like the plants that we grew since life was simple for a humble family such as ours.”

“Since my parents got married at an early age, they had no other job but to work as laborers at our neighbour’s gardens earning just enough to feed us every day. Despite the hardships, my parents had to go through for us to survive, we were able to set through each and every day as a one whole happy family,” Peang recalled.

In search of greener pastures, his father worked in Korea for four years until he was finally caught and deported. “My father had no choice but to go back home with what earnings he had left. At the day he stepped out of the bus, I didn’t recognize him nor felt any longing for his presence. I just remembered my mother’s expression of surprise and happiness as she embraced a man that I had only seen on old photographs.

“The man stepped towards me and hugged me tight in his arms as my mother’s words telling me: “Your father is home.” I stood steady and confused without any reaction but deep inside, seeing him after all the years made me admire him so much,” he fondly recollects.

Peang finished primary grade at the Mankayan Central School before going to the St. James High School in Besao, Mountain Province where he became a Citizens’ Army Training  officer, an election committee member and a class president.

He later became a “working student” at the University of Baguio where he first took up his Bachelor of Science in Criminology. On his second year, he came to know of the PNPA cadetship program and successfully passed its entrance examination.

Peang became a member of the PNPA Class 2012’s Alpha Company where he formed a solid bond with classmates from different parts of the country. 

Inspector Marjorie Alcaraz Samson,25, and Inspector Reizabelle Talogis Gumaru are the 1st and 2nd top students of PNPA Class 2012.

——————–

LIFE STORIES of TOP THREE CLASS OF 2012

Rudy Aliona Peang
-PNPA Website

3rd Honor:
PNPA 2012 Graduating cadet with honor (No.3) Autobiography
My name is Rudy Aliona Peang. I first saw the light of this world on July 9, 1989 at the barrio of Cabitin, Mankayan , Benguet. I am the second of the six children of my father, Mr Jerry and Mrs Fely Peang. I am a proud igorot of the peaceful Cordillera Region.

My story started in Mankayan, Benguet where my early childhood days were filled with memories of lush gardens .Life was sweet like the plants that we grew since life was simple for a humble family such as ours. Since my parents got married at an early age, they had no other job but to work as daily labourers at our neighbour’s gardens earning just enough to feed us every day. Despite the hardships my parents had to go through for us to survive, we were able to set through each and every day as a one whole happy family.

Unfortunately when I was five my father left for another country. He went to Korea to work as an electrician. At that time I wasn’t able to discern what had happened but life continued on. I was enrolled then at Mankayan Central School at the age of seven for primary education. School for me then was taken for granted. I didn’t know the importance of learning as I, along with my other classmate often skipped school and play all day long at their house. I was a very hyperactive kid just doing what I want.

After four years of working in Korea, my father was caught and deported back to the Philippines. My father had no choice but to go back home with what earnings he had left. At the day he stepped out of the bus, I didn’t recognized him nor felt any longing for his presence. I just remembered my mother’s expression of surprise and happiness as she embraced a man that I had only seen on old photographs. The man stepped towards me and hugged me tight in his arms as my mother’s words telling me: “your father is home.” I stood Steady and confused without any reaction but deep inside, seeing him after all the years made me admire him so much.

My life took a turn when news of my grandfather’s death came. We had to travel far away to Besao, Mt. Province to attend the funeral. My grandmother was now all alone without anyone to accompany her at her house. Due to the circumstances, my father decided that I should stay to have someone help and assist my Grandmother due to her old age. As a ten years old child, I humbly accepted their decision. Despite the indifferences that I experienced on my first days at the place with a different dialect, I was able to adapt. I was enrolled at Besao Central Elementary School where I finished my primary education as an average student. Staying alone with my grandmother had changed me. I believe it was the flashpoint of my early maturity and sense of independence to live without relying much on my parents. It was also a time of discovery, of meeting new people and building relationship with them.

My Highschool life was spent mostly at St. james highschool at Besao Mt. Province. My description of my highschool life is unexplainable. To start with, highschool is the part of my life that I will never ever forget. This was the time I experience how to fall in love, to be heartbroken, to be a bully, to be with barkadas, to go camping, to be a CAT officer, to be an election committee member, to be a section president and lots of other adventurous and exciting stuff. But of all this I never let myself be influence with vices. I became active on my academics with the realization that it’s time to work hard for a bright future. The taste of achievement became my fuel of improving me towards my higher standards. I branded in my mind that education is important and it is the key to success. I regret my carelessness during my elementary days of failing to see the importance of education in my life. Nonetheless, I strived hard to study. The fruits of my labour were sweet indeed for as I march the stage on graduation day, I was called as the 3rd honourable mention. It was a very proud moment for me and my parents and especially to my grandmother who financed my education. It was a very humble time for me to thank god for his blessings.

“Strike while the iron is hot.” It is a common saying which simply states for us to grab the opportunity as we still have a chance. My chances of success seem to dwindle as the good news is paired with the bad news of our financial crisis. My parents simply could not afford to send me to college. I only had my hope and my faith in God that everything would be alright. After a week from our graduation, I met my adviser who then asks me of what career would be taking. I tried to hide my sadness. As I replied that I could not go on to college because of financial matters. And just as I would already leave, I thought I saw the gates of heaven open and my adviser was an angel coming out of it. God had answered my prayers when my adviser said that she would help me. She set up a meeting for me and the vice president of one of the Baguio’s prestigious universities. She backed me up on my qualification to become one of the University of Baguio’s working students. After the vice president assessment of me, I was immediately accepted with the condition that I would maintain on garnering high grades.

I took up of Bachelor of Science in criminology for I always dreamed of becoming a policeman. On my first days of stay in the city, I cannot help but compare the environment and the people of the city with the ones in the province. Life in the city seemed to be more complicated as everything needs to be bought with money, something that I do not have much of. As a working student, College years were my toughest. I struggle a lot in my studies to acquire the highest grade I can. I learned to balance my time as I study in the morning and work at the afternoon. Every day was really with deep effort.

On my second year college, I was curious as some of my classmates were encouraging me to apply in a school of police officers. I had very little knowledge then of the Philippine National Police Academy. I researched more on the cadetship program and I came to know the benefits and privileges of which one can receive upon admission. I joined the entrance exam. God has been very generous for his help until the very last process for me to enter the complex world of cadetship.

March 18, 2008. After my struggle for being one of the chosen few, I learned that I was one of the 400 applicants out of 20,000 who was able to come this far. In the early morning on that day, I never expected to reach as far as the mountains of Silang, Cavite. Full of excitement, we stood in front of the big white gate which served as an entrance for those who dared. Cadets in their dress coat uniforms greeted us with a smile, telling us the things we need to do for the rites that would welcome us in our new home. I was amazed of how they dressed, how they talked and walked that I became more inspired to be a cadet just like them. I thought of them as the coolest guys on earth, and now I’m going to be like them.

Then the music started. Drum beats and horns sounded off which signalled the start of our reception rites. It was the longest day of my life. I can still hear the screams like battle cries commanding us on every move we make. I was shocked, but never frightened. I just followed what everyone else was telling me to do. Push up! Sit up! Roll like a barrel! It was the first time for me to hear terms I never heard before. I felt pain, I felt tired that I thought turning back to being a simple student that I was before. I felt like I can’t make it, I felt confused no more discerning what I have to do. I even wished that my parents were there to take me home.

At that point, I was now frightened but I have no choice but to continue. I realized that I have nowhere else to go if ever I quit. As I said from the start, this is already my opportunity.

For Four years, I have gone through the most colourful experiences in cadetship which I could have never had if I quitted on my first day. The dim world of plebehood was a sweet and sour experience which paved the way for my success today. I became a member of the best company in the cadet corps the ALFA COMPANY. In it, I was able to meet my classmates from the different regions of the country. With them we formed a bond like no other. I learned how to approach and understand different people which are a necessity in my chosen profession. I became the member of silent drill company as well as the elite, the only Slow Drill Platoon in Asia, the standards of the corps. In joining this organization I know that I have proved my ascendancy and my desire of maintaining a high sense of discipline I would carry in me forever. Despite the rigors of training, it was still and always my priority to study and to learn. I have not forgotten my desire to help my family. Years of stay in the academy made me understand and find much deeper purpose to become a public servant. I found the lapses in the PNP organization which demoralizes its credibility. It made me want to strive more so that someday I would be able to help in building the image of the Police.

Everything I have today, I owe it to the academy, to the good people who had help me, and especially to our Almighty God. Indeed, the academy is a centre for professionalization and character development. It has transformed me from a civilian to a refined person. It has given me education and training to combat whatever injustices I may encounter in the field of service. Looking back at my humble beginnings I can say that nothing is impossible. We can fulfil our dreams through perseverance and hard work. We just have to do our best and God will surely crown us with success.

As I graduate on this coming March 24, 2012 as third in the order of merits, I will certainly accept with honour my responsibilities as a public servant. In the name of my class Sinagtala, I will continue to seek improvement so that I would be able to give light to those who are lost. Through honest and quality service, I will live up to any level of expectations.

— taken from the PNPAyer family and friend facebook posts of PSUPT HARRIS FAMA

About taraki-ak

Taraki Lang

5 responses to “Proud Igorot top PNPA cadet this year”

  1. taraki-ak says :

    Reblogged this on Igorotak.

  2. taraki-ak says :

    Reblogged this on Igorotak.

  3. danny says :

    proud to be an igorot!congrats sir RUDY keep up d good work!

  4. mharsky colls says :

    GOD BLESS… MATAGO TAGO KA..

  5. jane says :

    congrats sir!keep it up….GBU!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

